You're not logged in | Login / Register | News Filter | Submit News

Shingan Cup Street Fighter 5 tournament live stream ft. blind players only

Posted by Justin 'AdaptiveTrigger' Gordon • April 16, 2022 at 8:20 p.m. PDT • Comments: 7

We've seen many Street Fighter 5 tournaments throughout the years, but none quite like the Shingan Cup. Every player that's competing at the Shingan Cup is blind. Quite fitting since "shingan" in Japanese translates to "mind's eye."

According to Soranews24, Blind Fortia's Naoya, Igupi and Choco Tart will be facing off against Galaxy Laboratory's MM, Kyo and Kure. Shingan Cup is a tournament that's been officially recognized by Capcom.

One might wonder how these players are able to compete at all while only using their sense of hearing. We've been told before by players like BlindWarriorSven that this is possible thanks to Capcom's impressive sound design.

With enough practice, players can determine exactly what's happening based on sound alone. Of course, it can't be overstated that it's through the determination and perseverance of these players that really makes this all possible despite the challenges that life has brought them.

According to Soranews24, it's been promised by the organizers that the tournament will demonstrate "the beauty of working to overcome disability and the depth of possibilities represented by e-sports."

Shingan Cup is scheduled to start at 10:00 p.m. PT April 16 / 1:00 a.m. ET April 17 / 2:00 p.m. JST April 17. The tournament is being held in Tokyo, Japan and is being streamed on ePARA's YouTube channel.

Sent in by BlindWarriorSven.

Load comments (7)