You're not logged in | Login / Register | News Filter | Submit News

Update: The Capcom Cup 2020 fan favorite nomination voting is now live and will last until December 18

Posted by Justin 'AdaptiveTrigger' Gordon • November 23, 2020 at 3:05 p.m. PST • Comments: 59

Update: The nomination process has begun. Which player receives the most votes will be given that 20th qualifying slot for Capcom Cup 2020.

To vote, head over to the page that hosts everyone's Twitter accounts. Click the "Nominate" button for the player you wish to submit a vote for. Note that you do require a Twitter account to participate. Your vote won't be counted unless you actually Tweet out the automated message that comes with clicking the "Nominate" button.

Earlier: The final qualifier event for Capcom Cup 2020, the Capcom Pro Tour Online 2020 North America West 2, will be concluding later tonight. The eight players remaining are Dethrone|Nigel, Alex Myers, XSK Samurai, UYU|JB, RB|Snake Eyez, CleggMadness, PRO7OTYPE and ChrisCCH.

By the end of the night, one of these competitors will have secured the 19th qualifier slot for the upcoming Capcom Cup 2020 event. However, the official rules for the Capcom Cup 2020 indicates that there are actually 20 spots available.

18 of these qualifier slots have been decided via the Capcom Pro Tour Online 2020 events that have been occurring throughout the year. The Capcom Cup 2019 champion, iDom, is guaranteed an opportunity to defend his title.

As for the 20th and final slot, it will be decided by a fan voting. Note that only the players that qualified for Capcom 2019 last year will be eligible for voting.

For the remaining competitors at the Capcom Pro Tour Online 2020 North America West 2, this means that they won't be able to participate at Capcom Cup 2020 if they don't come in first place tonight.

Of course, if a player from Capcom Cup 2019 has already been able to qualify for Capcom Cup 2020 via one of the online events, then it also won't be possible to vote for them.

This means that the list of eligible players will include AI|801 Strider, NASR|Big Bird, RB|Bonchan, CO|Dogura, SNB|Fujimura, BST|Fuudo, AZ|Kichipa-mu, GyoGun|Machabo, GyoGun|Mago, GyoGun|Moke, Victrix|Momochi, Liquid|Nemo, FAV|Sako, Rohto|Tokido, Talon|HotDog29, UYU|JB, Liquid|John Takeuchi, UYU|NL, UYU Oil King, PG|Punk, Mouz|Problem X, TUQ|Zenith and NuckleDu — though NuckleDu has chosen to not participate in the vote.

According to Capcom, the voting nomination will officially begin tomorrow, November 23 at 2:00 p.m. PST / 5 p.m. EST. Nominations will go on until December 18 at 2 p.m. PST / 5 p.m. EST.

The player with the most "Twitter Nominations" will qualify as Capcom Cup 2020's 20th competitor.

Capcom Cup 2020 Community Vote

• 801 Strider
• Big Bird
• Bonchan
• Dogura
• Fujimura
• Fuudo
• HotDog29
• JB
• John Takeuchi
• Kichipa-mu
• Luffy
• Machabo
• Mago
• Moke
• Momochi
• Nemo
• NL
• Oil King
• Problem-X
• Punk
• sako
• Tokido
• Zenith

Load comments (59)