Update: Street Fighter 5 servers under maintenance in preparation for Champion Edition launch

Posted by Steven 'Dreamking23' Chavez • February 13, 2020 at 10:06 a.m. PST | Comments: 37

Update: The day has finally come. Street Fighter 5's servers are officially out of commission for the time being, so Capcom can update the game to the full release of Champion Edition and Seth — though this will not include the netcode update which is scheduled for next week.

The Street Fighter 5 series is gearing up for another major version launch later this week. On Friday, February 14, the standalone iteration of Street Fighter 5: Champion Edition will become available for purchase.

In preparation for the new content going live Street Fighter 5's servers will be going offline the day prior, February 13, to implement the latest update.

Street Fighter 5's servers will be offline from 10 a.m. PDT / 1 p.m. EDT / 18:00 UCT to 4 p.m. PDT / 7 p.m. EDT / 0:00 UTC (February 14).

As we typically see with server maintenance, the game's online modes will be inaccessible during that window of time.

Street Fighter 5: Champion Edition is set to bring nearly all of the previously released content the game has seen into the fold for those who do not have it yet. Differing from the Upgrade Kit — which requires having any previous version of the game — Champion Edition is its own title that is perfect for anyone who has never owned Street Fighter 5 before.

Alongside CE's release we will be seeing Street Fighter 5's 40th playable character enter the ring. Street Fighter 4 boss, Seth, is back with a new look and various new techniques that will surely put a hurt on those who face it.

Street Fighter 5: Champion Edition not only comes equipped with 40 characters, but there are also over 200 costumes, 34 stages, and various modes for players to hop right into. Capcom recently released an infographic detailing everything that comes included, and you can see it here.

If you're looking to pick up Street Fighter 5: Champion Edition this Friday, you'll be able to do so for $29.99 USD. You can also purchase the Upgrade Kit right now for $24.99, though Seth will not become available until CE launches.

Source: SFV Server Status.

Load comments (37)