Street Fighter 5's Intel World Open Olympic championship series will be made up of 21 teams trying to earn their spot at the Tokyo finals

Home field advantage

Posted by Dakota 'DarkHorse' Hills • September 12, 2019 at 6:56 a.m. PDT

Yesterday, Intel and the International Olympic Committee announced the Intel World Open eSports event leading into the start of the 2020 Olympics featuring Street Fighter 5 and Rocket League as its premier titles.

We now have more details as to the tournament and qualifier structure that will be used for Street Fighter 5's world stage event worth $250,000 which will feature 21 teams in total with Japan advancing straight to the finals.

There will be 12 countries pre-selected to form teams for the National Qualifiers with online tournaments determining who makes up the final teams of four players beginning in March 2020. This process is said to last four to eight weeks depending on the country.

Eight additional teams will also be selected through online Regional Qualifiers to determine who will move on to the next and first live stage.

Katowice, Poland will serve as the battleground for the four-day Live Qualifier event in June where the 20 teams will fight to be one of the seven representatives of the Americas, Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Asia who will join team Japan at the finals.

The remaining eight teams will compete at the Tokyo Final Event of the Intel World Open from July 22–24 where the winning national team will take home the majority share of the $250,000 prize pool.

Intel World Open structure image #1
Click images for larger versions

The identity of the 12 pre-selected countries has not been revealed at this time, but will probably feature prominent competitive scenes like the United States, United Kingdom and South Korea to name a few.

Addtitional information regarding the online qualifying and offline tournaments and teams will reportedly be revealed in October.

Sent in by talis, Smorgasboard.

Load comments (48)