Masahiro Sakurai doesn't believe characters like Goku or Iron Man will ever be playable in Super Smash Bros.

He does acknowledge that some people do seriously want them

Posted by Justin 'AdaptiveTrigger' Gordon • May 30, 2019 at 6 a.m. PDT

The idea that certain characters would become playable in the Super Smash Bros. series has always been a meme. For example, it was always perceived that Ridley would always be relegated to the status of being a stage hazard or boss because he was "too big."

This meme was ultimately (pun intended) crushed when the murderer of Samus' parents (and apparently Mario and Mega Man too) was officially announced for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.

Unfortunately for fans of Goku and Iron Man, it seems that they'll likely never be able to break away from this meme status in the same way that Ridley was able to. Masahiro Sakurai has basically confirmed as much in his recent book.

"He knows some are serious, but he doesn't think characters like Iron Man and Goku will happen," said Smashboards user Ayumi Tachibana regarding the contents of page 27 found in Sakurai's book.

Considering that Nintendo has already finalized the DLC roster for the Fighters Pass, we'll likely not be seeing Goku any time soon. In fact, Sakurai also indicated in his book that there weren't any plans for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate's DLC by January 11, 2018 and that the plans were developed without him.

Sakurai is also apparently not overly fond of the season pass concept as he believes it's a little scary to buy something without fully knowing its contents. It's currently unknown if there will be a second Fighters Pass after the first set of characters are released by February 2020.

Although there might be many fans that still support the idea of Goku finally joining the roster of Super Smash Bros., Sakurai has reiterated that he has no plans to incorporate another ballot. Evidently, the last ballot was used quite extensively during the development of Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.

With all this said, it's not entirely outside of the realm of possibilities. Sakurai has been known to backpedal on specific reasons why characters like Villager, the Miis, Pac-Man, and Ridley weren't playable in previous iterations.

To this day, Sakurai has continued to stick with the rule that the roster of Super Smash Bros. feature characters that originate from video games.

Sakurai first established this rule while talking about 3rd party characters following the development of Super Smash Bros. Brawl during an Iwata Asks column (information about this from Source Gaming).

It seems that fans will have to just settle for Goku being a spirit in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate for now. Well... sort of.

Source: SmashBoards user comment.

Load comments (35)