It's probably not a good idea to change your PlayStation Network ID if you own a bunch of older games and DLC; you may lose them or your progress

Players and TO's should check compatibility lists

Posted by Dakota 'DarkHorse' Hills • October 25, 2018 at 5:46 p.m. PDT

Sony announced that they were finally implementing a feature that PlayStation players have been asking for since 2006 with the ability to change PSN Online IDs, but they can apparently come at quite the cost for those that own a large amount of digital content and games in general.

The first opt-in agreements are reportedly going out to PlayStation 4 firmware beta testers, and ResetEra users have posted detail of the name changing process and what it could affect for players' content on multiple platforms.

Only games released after April 1, 2018 will work natively with the name changes, and older titles on PlayStation 4, PS3 and PS Vita may face a variety of issues pertaining to DLC content ownership, save data, online play and more may essentially break or be lost.

The 'Important Information' area of the agreement states that users may lose access to content — including purchased items and in-game currency, may lose their game progress, leaderboard progress and certain game functions may not work correctly for both online and offline features.

Those that have a good amount of fighting game DLC purchased on their PlayStation systems but still want to try changing their name can revert back to their original ID at any time — though Sony also doesn't guarantee that switching back will fix all issues.

This new name changing feature is scheduled to open for beta testers in November and the rest of the PlayStation user base in 2019. Tournament organizers and players should probably check for compatibility lists when they become available before changing their IDs. You can check out the full details about the Online ID change process and its restrictions after the jump.

PlayStation Network beta agreement image #1
Click images for larger versions

Change Online ID Overview

As part of the System Software 6.10 preview, we are rolling out the upcoming Change Online ID system feature. As a preview user you will be able to change your Online ID using the new system tools.

To use this feature please ensure you have a clear understanding of the implications of changing your Online ID and the software’s restrictions – described in the following sections – before software installation. If you are unsure, do not download and install the Preview Program software.

Important Information Before Changing your Online ID:

Not all games and applications for PS4™, PS3™, PS Vita, and other PlayStation® systems support the Online ID change feature. If you change your Online ID:
• You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you have acquired for your games, including content like add-ons and virtual currency.
• You may lose your progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data and progress toward trophies.
• Parts of your games and applications might not function properly, both online and offline.
• Your previous Online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places.

Change Online ID Restrictions During Preview:

The changes during the preview will adhere to the following structure:
• First change is free for all users.
• Second change will be charged at €9.99 / £7.99 (PlayStation®Plus subscribers receive a 50% discount).
• If your previous Online ID violates any of the current Terms of Service, you will not be able to revert back to your previous Online ID.
• You can revert to your previous Online ID once per account during the preview period.
• Sub-Accounts cannot utilise the Change Online ID feature.
• After you change your Online ID, it may take a few hours for some services and applications to reflect the new ID.

If for any reason you have issues after changing your Online ID you can revert back to your previous ID at no charge. However:
• you may only do this once during the preview period;
• changing back to your previous Online ID may not fix all issues (you may not recover all or any lost content, progress and functionality; and
• if you want to change back, do so as soon as possible because changing back to your previous Online ID may affect content, game progress and functionality associated with your new Online ID.

Load comments (31)