Here's what the Capcom Cup 2018 brackets should look like

Mock up is based on the brackets for Capcom Cup 2017 and they are subject to change

Posted by Justin 'AdaptiveTrigger' Gordon • November 18, 2018 at 8:23 p.m. PST | Comments: 49

With Red Bull Conquest concluding, we now know 31 out of the 32 players that will be competing at Capcom Cup 2018. The last player will be decided by the Capcom Cup 2018 Last Chance Qualifier.

As a result of this, we can now establish what the Capcom Cup 2018 bracket will look like. We've created a mock up based on 2017's bracket.

The player with the highest number of points — FOX|Tokido with 4,431 points — will face off against the player with the least number of points — CrossoverRD with 161 points — in the first round. Essentially, the first seed will face off against the last seed of the event.

REC|Punk, NASR|AngryBird, RB|Gachikun, and CrossoverRD's spots in the Capcom Pro Tour are guaranteed regardless of their point counts thanks to their amazing performances at the North American Regionals, the European Regionals, the Asian Regionals, and the Latin American Regionals respectively.

RISE|MenaRD will also return to defend his crown. He was the winner of the Capcom Cup 2017. While points don't matter for these players' entry, they do affect their seeding.

Unlike last year, the Last Chance Qualifier player will be seeded at 19 rather than 32. This is so the #1 seeded player will be able to properly prepare for their opponent.

Please keep in mind that this is just a mock up of what the bracket should look like and does not officially represent Capcom's tournament.

Theoretical Capcom Cup 2018 bracket image #1 Theoretical Capcom Cup 2018 bracket image #2
Click images for larger versions

1. FOX|Tokido (Akuma) vs. 32. CrossoverRD (Akuma)

16. NASR|BigBird (Rashid, Zeku, Ken) vs. 17. RB|Gachikun (Rashid)

8. UYU|OilKing (Rashid) vs. 25. FOX|Momochi (Kolin, Ken, Akuma)

9. Ghost|NuckleDu (Guile, Cammy, R. Mika) vs. 24. DNG|Itabashi Zangief (Abigail)

4. CYG|Fuudo (R. Mika, Birdie) vs. 29. CYG|Chris Tatarian (Ken, Akuma)

13. DouyuTV|Xiao Hai (Cammy) vs. 20. CJ Truth (Cammy)

12. FD|Haitani (Akuma) vs. 21. RB|Bonchan (Nash, Karin, Sagat)

5. FAV|Sako (Menat) vs. 28. Liquid|Nemo (Urien, G)

2. FD|Fujimura (Ibuki) vs. 31. NASR|AngryBird (Zeku, Akuma)

15. Rise|Caba (Guile) vs. 18. RZR|Xian (Ibuki)

10. CYG|Daigo (Guile) vs. 23. REC|Punk (Karin, Kolin)

7. UYU|NL (Cammy) vs. 26. AB|StormKubo (Abigail)

3. Mouz|Problem X (M. Bison, Abigail) vs. 30. Rise|MenaRD (Birdie, Akuma)

14. NVD|Phenom (Necalli, Guile, M. Bison) vs. 19. [Capcom Cup 2018 Last Chance Qualifier]

6. FOX|Justin Wong (Menat) vs. 27. Fursan|Verloren (Cammy)

11. RB|Luffy (R. Mika) vs. 22. Mago (Cammy)

Load comments (49)