Lylat Cruise returns to the Super Smash Bros. 4 stage list after receiving feedback

Posted by Justin 'AdaptiveTrigger' Gordon • February 16, 2017 at 10:31 a.m. PST

Not too long ago, we saw a change to the recommended ruleset for Super Smash Bros. 4. Perhaps the most controversial part of the changes were the changes to the recommended stagelist.

Apparently the people behind the 2017 ruleset change decided to review all the feedback they've gotten regarding their proposed changes. This has resulted in them making a few changes to the rules that they originally presented.

Lylat Cruise has gone from being a banned stage to a starter stage.
This particular stage was likely originally banned because of its odd layout. The fact that the stage keeps tilting caused many recoveries to be gimped as a result.

The layout also de-emphasized camping strategies.

What wasn't changed was the idea of Battlefield and Dreamland being considered the same stage as far as stage striking/banning is concerned. The reasoning for this is because of how closely their layouts resemble one another.

Interestingly enough, the Duck Hunt stage wasn't even mentioned as far if the changes were kept or changed again. We can probably assume that this stage will remain banned as a result.

Likely the reasoning behind banning the Duck Hunt stage is because of its supposed encouragement of camping. That tree at the left also makes many match ups for Little Mac virtually impossible to win.

Here are the main points that Tantlus made regarding the ruleset changes:

Ruleset changes


Lylat Cruise goes from BANNED to STARTER
Stage Clause has been added in (you can't pick the LAST stage you won on)
Doubles Team Clause has been updated - a team cannot play a match unless the whole team is present
Only 3 omegas: Suzaku, Wily, Midgar

Things we didn't change:
BF/DL being unified

We chose the LAST stage version of DSR due to the requirement of having bans, and that requirement hinged on having Lylat Cruise legal. We wanted to leave the option on to ban it even in a bo5 (best of 5).

You can get the entire statement from Tantalus on his TwitLonger statement.

How do you feel about Lylat Cruise being added back to the stagelist? Let us know in the comments section below.
Load comments (12)