You're not logged in | Login / Register | News Filter | Submit News

Bandai Namco reveals how the Dragon Balls mechanic works in Dragon Ball FighterZ

Collect all seven in battle to get one of four wishes granted

Posted by Steven 'Dreamking23' Chavez • December 19, 2017 at 8 a.m. PST • Comments: 67

The release of Dragon Ball FighterZ is fast approaching, and as we draw nearer to launch Bandai Namco continues to share new information on what fans can expect in-game.

Just last week, the company unveiled the three latest characters to enter the fray. Dragon Ball Super's Beerus, Hit, and Goku Black will all be on the playable roster.

Today, Bandai Namco took to Twitter to unveil how the Dragon Ball system will work in battle. For those unaware, competitors will have the ability to collect the seven Dragon Balls throughout any given fight.

To do so, you will have to "string a specific number of combos," says Bandai Namco. Once all seven are collected, Shenron will appear and grant the player one of four wishes.

The wishes range from regaining health to immortality.

As this is a mechanic that will give players an edge in battle, it will be interesting to see how it will function in competitive play. Dragon Ball FighterZ producer Tomoko Hiroki has mentioned in the past that the team is looking to appeal to the hardcore fighting game scene with this game, so an option to shut the feature off might be available at launch. We'll have to wait for more information on that front.

Dragon Ball FighterZ's Dragon Balls mechanic image #1 Dragon Ball FighterZ's Dragon Balls mechanic image #2 Dragon Ball FighterZ's Dragon Balls mechanic image #3
Click images for larger versions

Check out the full breakdown of the wishes below.

1. Restore my health: Restore your current character's to its full health
2. Bring back my ally: Revive your lost ally to 50% health
3. Give me the ultimate power: Boost your Ki gauge to MAX
4. Make me immortal: Health will be 50% restored, and auto-restoration for energy gauge.

Dragon Ball FighterZ is set for a January 26th, 2018 release on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC.

Load comments (67)