You're not logged in | Login / Register | News Filter | Submit News

Tournament preview: SEAM 2014 and MLG Anaheim 2014 ft. Tokido, Fuudo, Bonchan, Justin Wong, PPMD, Mew2King, Mango, Armada, Hungrybox, Leffen, and more

Posted by Steven 'Dreamking23' Chavez • June 18, 2014 at 6:30 p.m. PDT

This weekend we have two major events taking place that will be host to some truly excellent fighting game action. Both South East Asia Major 2014 and Major League Gaming's 2014 Anaheim Championship are kicking off this Friday.

A slew of games are being competed in throughout the weekend including Ultra Street Fighter 4, Super Smash Bros. Melee, Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3, Injustice: Gods Among Us, Killer Instinct, and more.

Players such as MCZ|Tokido, RZR|Fuudo, Bonchan, Mike Ross, EG|Momochi and many others will be at SEAM, while EG|Justin Wong, EG| PR Balrog, GG|NYChrisG, EG|PPMD, C9|Mango, EMP|Armada, EMP|Mew2King, Crs|Hungrybox, Leffen and more are attending MLG Anaheim.

South East Asia Major 2014


The rundown: The Capcom Pro tour continues this weekend, June 20-22, with its first Premier event in Singapore -- South East Asia Major 2014. The games being played at event are as follows:

- Ultra Street Fighter 4
- Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3
- Blazblue: Chrono Phantasma
- Tekken Tag Tournament 2
- King of Fighters 13

Who's expected to show: RZR|Xian, RZR|Fuudo, MCZ|Tokido, MCZ|Mago, AVM|Gamerbee, EG|Momochi, Kazunoko, Bonchan, Leslie, RZR|Gackt, RZR|Itabashi Zangief, Twitch|Mike Ross, Twitch|Jayce The Ace, Zhi, and more.

Ultra Street Fighter 4 schedule:

Day 1
Pool 1-2: 21 June 1am EST, 20 June 10pm PST
Pool 3-4: 21 June 3am EST, 21 June 12am PST
Pool 5-6: 21 June 5am EST, 21 June 2am PST
Pool 7-8: 21 June 7am EST, 21 June 4am PST

Day 2
Top 16: 22 June 1:30am EST, 21 June 10:30pm PST
Top 8 : 22 June 4:30am EST, 22 June 1:30am PST
Top 4 : 22 June 5:30am EST, 22 June 2:30am PST

Streaming duties: You can catch all of the action this weekend on Capcom Fighters, Tough Cookie TV, Zhieeep, and Frame Trap TV.

A full stream schedule can be found here.

Prizing information: The winner of the Ultra Street Fighter 4 portion of the tournament will secure a spot at the Capcom Cup that is set to take place at the end of the year. Additionally, a $2,000 pot bonus is being added to USF4, courtesy of Capcom and Twitch.

Prizing info for each game can be found here.


Click image for larger version

Major League Gaming 2014 Anaheim Championship


The rundown: MLG is holding their 2014 Championship in Anaheim, California, on June 20-22. There will be three fighting game tournaments taking place at the event: Super Smash Bros. Melee, Injustice: Gods Among Us, and Killer Instinct.

Who's expected to show: EG|PPMD, C9|Mango, EMP|Armada, EMP|Mew2King, Crs|Hungrybox, Leffen, EG|Justin Wong, RG|Filipino Champ, EG|PR Balrog, RG|Rico Suave, Filthie Rich, Hitbox|Tyrant, GG|NYChrisG, Grimmmz, and more.

Schedule:

Super Smash Bros. Melee
Injustice: Gods Among Us
Killer Instinct

Streaming duties: Major League Gaming is handling streaming duties at MLG Anaheim and will have two different streams for their event: one for Super Smash Bros. Melee and one for both Injustice and Killer Instinct.

Prizing information: Killer Instinct and Injustice: Gods Among Us each have $7,500 in prizes up for grabs, while Super Smash Bros. Melee has a whopping $15,000. You can hit each link below to see a breakdown of how the prize money will be divided up.

Super Smash Bros. Melee
Injustice: Gods Among Us
Killer Instinct

Additional info: The Level|Up crew will be in attendance and running side tournaments for Killer Instinct and Injustice. They'll also be hosting a "Rushdown the Pros" event where attendees can challenge EG|Justin Wong, RG|Rico Suave, Hitbox|Tyrant, LU|Alex Valle, Emperor Theo, and more to matches in KI and Injustice.

Tune in here at EventHubs this weekend for live results, battle logs, and more.

Comments

gintoki said on June 18, 2014 at 6:43 p.m.

Excited to see how mago and tokido showcase the new akuma and fei

#1
Gotomaster said on June 18, 2014 at 6:45 p.m.

Mago isn't playing Fei anymore,from what I gathered.

#2
xianmsg said on June 18, 2014 at 6:48 p.m.

Mago had a personal thing and could not come to seam this year :(

#3
xianmsg said on June 18, 2014 at 6:49 p.m.

Eita will be coming

#4
IareBeStayDrunk said on June 18, 2014 at 6:57 p.m.

Mago isn't going to seam, from what I gathered. >_>

#5
gintoki said on June 18, 2014 at 6:59 p.m.

He is playing fei again, he just beat daigo in a tournament. http://beastnote.blogspot.com/2014/06...

#6
Taisutewarrior said on June 18, 2014 at 7:04 p.m.

マサ優勝せえや

#7
blackerthancoal said on June 18, 2014 at 7:28 p.m.

yeah, it seems he intended to switch mains after seeing the initial fei changes in the japanese arcade version which didn't seem satisfactory. then after the extra buffs they gave him in the console release, he went back to him since he felt he was a strong enough character again.

but he won't be going to seam so that's a shame...

#8
messias_89 said on June 18, 2014 at 7:43 p.m.

this SEAM tournment has lot of killers should be good.one question though:whats mike ross doing there? Kappa

#9
ltalia90 said on June 18, 2014 at 8:02 p.m.

Mike Ross coming to claim 44th place.

#10
evo546 said on June 18, 2014 at 8:16 p.m.

SEAM 2014 hella stacked...

#11
giraffe4hire said on June 18, 2014 at 8:18 p.m.

Mike Ross gonna body Asia, just you wait.

#12
spotlesseden said on June 18, 2014 at 8:25 p.m.

Mike Ross will be 14th.

#13
Shinebox said on June 18, 2014 at 8:43 p.m.

Should also mention that Twitch is flying out JayceTheAce to compete in SEAM

#14
mario3d said on June 18, 2014 at 8:45 p.m.

Go Xian! show the Gen power in ultra!!

#15
aoi said on June 18, 2014 at 10:20 p.m.

Mike Ross to claim the crown that is rightfully his

#16
oro77 said on June 19, 2014 at 1:41 a.m.

Itabashi Zangief won't intend neither.
Rooting for KJ !

#17
godfist314 said on June 19, 2014 at 2:18 a.m.

It probably goes without saying, but will Zhi be commentating this year at SEA? That guy is hiliarious!

#18
MrTimtastic said on June 19, 2014 at 4:56 a.m.

Mike Ross actually has a chance in Marvel!

#19
pirthe said on June 19, 2014 at 7:28 a.m.

(This user was banned.)

#20
Burnt said on June 19, 2014 at 8:20 a.m.

O YEAH going to be a good weekend for watching TV

#21
Remondo02 said on June 19, 2014 at 2:43 p.m.

(This user was banned.)

#22
RaiKageRyu said on June 19, 2014 at 9:43 p.m.

That prize distribution for TT2. They must be super confident that 50% of the pot will not surpass $1000.

#23


Post a comment

You're not logged in, you must Login to your account to post a comment.

If you do not have an account, you need to Register to comment. It's a free and quick process.

You're not logged in, you must Login to your account to post a comment.

If you do not have an account, you need to Register to comment. It's a free and quick process.



Live Streams
Name  Viewers 
leveluplive 9,353
Mew2King 523
FgtvLive 173
ohnickel 160
PandaxGaming 33
Tiers
Gains
 Losses 
Game-Specific News
Follow & Search EventHubs
RSS Twitter Facebook

          Submit News | Advertise | About | Privacy Policy
Capcom Pro Tour     Major League Gaming (MLG)